It’s the Most Wonderful Time…….

I decided to post about some Christmas music.  I had a couple of new thoughts about old songs this year and figured I’d share them with you.  Not sure why these thoughts came to me this year, but they did.  But before we get to the tunes:

Here’s a tip to any and all pop singers right now:  Write an original Christmas song.  Do it now!  I apologize to my wife for bringing this up AGAIN, but I just can’t fathom why this doesn’t happen more often.  We’re still listening to the Beach Boys’ and Chuck Berry’s original Christmas songs from 50 years ago.  Mariah Carey is sending her kids to college and grad school and med school, and buying them all planes so they can visit each other on weekends, all paid for by the royalties from “All I Want for Christmas is You.”  Hell, we’re even listening to that horrible George Michael abomination!  Katy Perry should take note:  Release one album early in the year this year, then focus all your song-writing talent (haha) on making an album of all original Christmas songs, or even just a handful of songs and put them on iTunes.  So many people will buy them, and not just this year.  Am I missing something?   If anyone knows why no one in the music industry realizes this, please let me know.  

Image

 

Just thought I’d share this pic as well.  It’s from the light show at the New Hampshire Motor Speedway.  It’s toward the end of the very lovely display they have, but I think they were running out of ideas by the time they set this one up.  Yes, that’s Rudolph under a palm tree on the right, Santa looking down at the Baby Jesus in the center, and I think that’s Mary and Joseph getting their marriage license from city hall on the left (but I could be wrong).  

 

So here are some videos of Christmas tunes.  I hope I didn’t come off as too snarky, that’s not what I was going for.  I hope everyone’s having a great Holiday Season!!!

Leave a Reply

