Polarization, Bumper Stickers, and Faux Accents

I am frustrated because I feel like I am THIS close to putting together a profound societal observation in a succinct yet understandable manner, but I just can’t make it all work.  I’m going to give it a shot and hope I get my point across.

Image

Here it goes:
So I noticed two things lately that are clear markers of the ongoing polarization happening these days.

I was commenting to myself about how there is a lot of good real music in popular culture these days. Mumford and Sons, the Black Keys, and Adele are perfect examples of what I’m talking about. As I was thinking about this, I realized what other types of music are tearing up the charts: Nikki Minaj, Pit-bull, Keisha. One group plays their own instruments, the other makes music I could probably create with the right app on my phone. There isn’t much in between. Michael Jackson, Christina Aguilera, and all those boy bands made music that was clearly computerized but could easily be recreated by a live band. There is no way this (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kYtGl1dX5qI) could ever be recreated by humans. The other choice is music made rockers who have been strumming a banjo or banging a drum their whole lives. So pop music is becoming both more and less human at the same time. Pick a side, because there is no middle ground.*

I saw a political bumper sticker on a car the other day that spelled out just how divided everything is.  It was in the same red white and light blue the Obama campaign used during the last election, and it simply said “Not a Republican” and had democrats.org written in the corner. I just felt so sad that it would just be assumed you are a Democrat if you are not a Republican. Like there’s absolutely no possible way anyone could possibly have a political thought that is not compatible with one of the two “teams” in power. Ooh, maybe I’ll make some money on the side selling bumper stickers that say “Not a Republican…. But also not a Democrat” and then put the blog web address in the corner.  It could be a way of saying “I can think for myself” or “This political system is full of robber and thieves,” or “insert anti-establishment statement here” It just really sucks that it comes to this. You’re either with “us” or against “us” regardless of who “us” is.  What’s going on with the line in the sand mentality?**

**Britney is clearly taking a page from Madonna’s playbook with the whole faux British thing.  Up next is a big book of black and white pictures featuring Ms. Spears in lingerie riding a donkey (which is dressed in a wedding gown) and hugging a sad clown frying an egg while wearing a sexy blind fold. 

**By the way, another suggestion for the future: all political bumper stickers are made with glue that only lasts 2-2.5 years. I’m not joking, I saw a “Clark ’04” sticker the other day. I don’t even know who that is. With my glue, that sticker would have been on for the primary season, hung around for little after the election to let everyone know that person is/was a conscientious objector to whomever was elected, and everyone would move on, instead of living in the past, man.

Another idea that came to me:
In the same vein of parental controls for your children, add a blocker for sites frequented by a splurge-ey significant other. The financially conservative member of the set can install this program to block sites like Pottery Barn, J Crew, LL Bean, or other sites where non-existent money is commonly spent. Any attempt at charging non-essential online purchases would be redirected to this site http://catalogliving.net/ for a good laugh.

 

Ok, I don’t know who you are, but if you’re out there, please listen:  Yesterday, this blog got one view, and that view was from someone in India.  I hope I don’t sound confrontational when I ask “Who are you and how did you find this?”  India.  I don’t know anyone in India.  I would love to know what combination of search engine terms and cookies and widgets guided this person to Firecat Central.  If you’re out there, please leave a comment, please, I’m dying to know.  Also, the post with the pictures from Canada was the second most viewed post ever and a third of the views were from Canada.  Maybe I’ll just write travelogues about random highly populated places, so FCC will come up on searches in these areas and get more of a global audience.  Hey, I might be on to something.

 

Click through the link on the left when shopping on Amazon.  Go to this page instead of amazon.com, click on the link here, you will be redirected to amazon.com, then shop as you normally would, and we get a small percentage of your total at no extra cost to you.  Oh, and feel free to tell someone about this blog, forward the link to a co-worker, your grandma, your milkman, anyone and everyone.  Thanks for reading, I really appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

